Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Upminster Cricket Club app


2018 Playing and Non-Playing Awards Are Announced

By Paul Middlemiss

Award winners announced during Saturday’s Dinner and Dance

Elaine Brown was announced as the deserving winner of the Keith Martin Club Member of the Year award on Saturday night. Elaine put in an immense effort in 2018 to organize Saturday’s hugely successful Dinner and Dance, as well as putting on several other enjoyable social events including the Quiz Night and the Cheese and Wine Evening. She is also a near permanent presence behind the bar on Friday evenings and was Manager of the Under 15 side which finished in second place in the Havering League. Everyone at the Club would like to thank Elaine for all of her efforts this Year, and congratulate her on winning this prestigious award.

Other nominations for the Keith Martin award were Rob Bannister, Oliver White, Ray Calder and Dave Brown. All of these members have made a significant contribution to the Club in 2018 and without their efforts the Club would not be in the position it is. Thank you to all of these members.

The President’s Batting Award was won for the first time by Stewart Hammond. Stewart’s consistent batting helped to ensure the 4th XI were able to avoid relegation from Division One this season. There were times in the first half of the campaign where Stewart must have felt like he alone was batting against the opposition. He completed the season with four half centuries and four other significant contributions to help his Team. Other nominations for the batting award were Louis Pickering, Steve Limn and James Evans.

Youngster Nathan Bright was the winner of the Colin Hart bowler of the Year award. Bright enjoyed a superb season, taking more than 30 senior wickets as he helped the 3rd XI to secure the Premier Division title. His efforts earned him a call up into the 2nd XI towards the end of the season. Ejaz Khan, Mark D’Cruz, Ryan Brown and Billy Wright were the other nominations for the award.

The fielder of the Year award was won by Oliver White. Oliver impressed in 2018 both in the infield where he took several crucial catches, and in the outfield where his speed and good arm were assets to the 3rd XI. Other nominations for the award were Tom Daniels, Kiran Kullar and 12 year old year old Callum Berry, in his first season of senior cricket.

1st XI opener Kiran Kullar was the winner of the John Nash Colt of the Year award. Kullar cemented his place in the 1st XI with a superb season. Opening the batting he played several crucial knocks as the 1st XI eased away from relegation, despite being just 15 years old. Despite being so young Kullar finished third in the 1st XI batting charts for 2018. Also nominated for the award were Sam Twine, Ryan Brown and Will Frost.

The John Dean Team of the Year prize was awarded to the Saturday 3rd XI. After many years of trying the side finally secured the Premier Division title, and captain Josh Lamont collected the Team award on Saturday night. Other nominations were the U9s and the Sunday League XI.

Well done to all of the award winners, and all those who were nominated.

Updated 12:44 - 18 Oct 2018 by Paul Middlemiss

Where next?

Paul Middlemiss awarded Life Vice Presidency of Upminster Cricket Club 'Middle' awarded honour for exceptional and ongoing service to the club.
Latest 100 Club Winners Three more winners drawn at D and D at weekend


Loading comments

Sat 27 Apr
1st XI Harold Wood
Cup 12:30
Sun 28 Apr
Cup 13:00

News sponsor